Official Press Release

DES MOINES, IA, Nov. 15, 2011- Mad Norwegian Press is pleased to announce the forthcoming publication of Chicks Dig Comics: A Celebration of Comic Books by the Women Who Love Them, an essay collection edited by Lynne M. Thomas and Sigrid Ellis, slated for release on April 10, 2012.

The book is very much in the vein of Lynne M. Thomas’s and Tara O’Shea’s Hugo Award-winning Chicks Dig Time Lords: A Celebration of Doctor Who by the Women Who Love It, featuring essays by female creators and fans on a wide array of comic book-related topics. Contributors to the book include Gail Simone, Rachel Edidin, Carla Speed McNeil, Jen Van Meter, Colleen Doran, Jill Thompson, Seanan McGuire, Marjorie Liu, Jill Pantozzi, Kelly Thompson, Tara O’Shea, Sarah Kuhn, Sara Ryan, Delia Sherman, Sarah Monette, Elizabeth Bear, and many more. Also featured is an introduction by Mark Waid and exclusive interviews with Amanda Conner, Louise Simonson, Greg Rucka and Terry Moore.

An eBook version of Chicks Dig Comics will be available on the Kindle and the Nook the same day of release as the print version.

————–

Chicks Dig Comics: A Celebration of Comic Books by the Women Who Love Them

Edited by: Lynne M. Thomas and Sigrid Ellis

Release date (print, Kindle and Nook): April 10, 2012

Retail Price (print edition): $14.95

Retail Price (Kindle and Nook): $9.95

 

ISBN (10 digit): 1935234056

ISBN (13 digit): 978-1935234050

 

Synopsis of Chicks Dig Comics:

In Chicks Dig Comics, editors Lynne M. Thomas (Hugo Award-winning Chicks Dig Time Lords) and Sigrid Ellis bring together essays by award-winning writers and artists who celebrate the comics medium and its creators, and who examine the characters and series that they love.

Gail Simone (Birds of Prey) and Carla Speed McNeil (Finder) describe how they entered the comics industry. Colleen Doran (A Distant Soil) reveals her superhero crush, while Jill Thompson (Scary Godmother) confesses to being a comics junkie. Jen Van Meter (Hopeless Savages) sings the praises of 1970s horror comics, and Seanan McGuire (the October Daye series) takes sides in the Jean Grey vs. Emma Frost battle.

 

Other contributors include Marjorie Liu (Dark Wolverine), Rachel Edidin (Dark Horse Comics), Jill Pantozzi (Newsarama), Kelly Thompson (Comic Book Resources), and SF/F authors Sara Ryan, Delia Sherman, Sarah Monette, and Elizabeth Bear. Also featured: an introduction by Mark Waid (Kingdom Come) and exclusive interviews with Amanda Conner (Power Girl), Louise Simonson (Power Pack), Greg Rucka (Queen & Country), and Terry Moore (Strangers in Paradise).

 

————–

About Mad Norwegian Press

 

Mad Norwegian Press is a Des Moines, Iowa-based publisher of science-fiction guides, novels and essay books. It was founded by Lars Pearson, a former staffer at Wizard: The Guide to Comics, in 2001.

The company has enjoyed particular success of late as a producer of essay books pertaining to women and fandom – the first being Chicks Dig Time Lords: A Celebration of Doctor Who by the Women Who Love It (2011 Hugo Award Winner for Best Related Work), followed by Whedonistas: A Celebration of the Worlds of Joss Whedon by the Women Who Love Them, and the forthcoming Chicks Dig Comics. The company also published the comic-book related More Digressions: A New Collection of “But I Digress” Columns, collecting many of Peter David’s essays from Comics Buyers’ Guide, in 2009.

Authors who have worked with Mad Norwegian Press include Elizabeth Bear, Seanan McGuire, Catherynne M. Valente, Emma Bull, Sarah Monette, Peter David, Harlan Ellison, Lyda Morehouse, Mary Robinette Kowal, Jody Lynn Nye, Jeanne C. Stein, Nancy Holder, Maria Lima, Jackie Kessler, Steve Lyons, Robert Shearman, Lance Parkin, Lawrence Miles, and Tat Wood.